top of page

Volunteer: West Valley Animal Shelter

Today was ever exciting because I finally got to meet one of my personal heroes, Marc Ching. This man is an incredible vegan, family man, who has traveled to both China and Korea and helped rescue dogs from the illegal dog meat trade as well as some cats, a goat, ducks, and more. He has such a big heart and has bore witness to such atrocities that have inspired me to help.

He is my hero because he also runs Animal Hope and Wellness Foundation which not only takes the dogs from China and Korea (that he was lucky to save) but he also takes in dogs no one else wants and gets them out of bad situations as well as out of high kill shelters.

The week prior to Sunday, volunteers from all over spent time at multiple shelters delivering food to the dogs and cats. I was able to participate on Sunday!

Because I am a vegan, and there were many volunteers, I did not physically touch the food (that was made of animals). Instead I helped network for them.

In fact, one dog, a Shih Tzu, had JUST BEEN DROPPED OFF by the owners while we were there. As I saw him coming in I ran to him and picked him up. The shelter employee was very nice and allowed me time with him. He told me the situation and his name, Cookie. I had one of the coordinators, Jenna, snap a photo of us:

While another volunteer and I were talking about which one of us was going to take him home and foster him, another woman was subtly watching and taking her time exploring his personality while I was holding him.

After the photo we moved on to feed the cats and I snapped some photos of the babies there and also did a live Periscope.

After all was said and done everyone was leaving and I stuck around a while longer to explore the animals and do more Periscope broadcasts.

Then I see Cookie in the lobby. Huh, I wondered. I inquired as to why he was there, thinking it was a sign for me to foster him, when a woman said she was watching me with him and couldn't resist him, so she rescued him!! It completely made my day and I was in tears. I hugged the beautiful stranger and was very happy! I couldn't adopt him because my apartment only allows two animals. I was thinking about sneaking him in! But luckily his stay in the shelter was very brief.

While Cookie received good news, there are still many other dogs, bunnies, horses, cats, turtles and other species of animals at the shelter desiring a home.

One such baby is a spayed, female, Border Collie/Lab mix named Jet!

This baby girl came running right over! Most Border Collies and Labs have a wonderful amount of energy.

She gave the BEST kisses! She is one of the many sweet girls and boys at the West Valley Shelter over in Woodland Hills/ Canoga Park / Chatsworth area!

The other volunteers had pretty much taken off, but Marc was still talking to the shelter staff about taking a few of the dogs that were under seperate care due to severe abuse and he was discussing perhaps taking those dogs and giving them a better life.

Marc is an angel in disguise! He came over to me and we discussed his adventures over in China and Korea as he is trying to desperately save hundreds of dogs over there that are suffering from horrific abuse all for a disgusting festival in which dogs are tortured, boiled alive, and more all for "sport" and "fun" and then they are eaten. Some of the dogs are stolen from families.

Please sign the petition to end the dog meat festival: https://savedogs.soidog.org/

Marc will be going back to Korea in the new year and I am hoping to raise money for me to join him. Everyone says that it's dangerous; However, I am just sitting at home crying because I can't do anything about it but spread the word and sign petitions. Now I have officially met someone who is actively helping these creatures and I want to join him. No if, ands, or buts about it. Please stay tuned for my upcoming fundraiser.

Here is one of the babies in the cat area. He is a male and is already neutered.

Many more cats, dogs, bunnies, turtles, and horses available as well. Of course, the horses are rescue only, not to be ridden.

Anyway, I was so thankful to all the lovely, caring volunteers. Again I was reminded that there are still good people around this world who desire to make a difference and see change.

Please follow Animal Hope and Wellness as well! http://www.animalhopeandwellness.org/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page